My experiences with custom ROMs

Hi Everyone!!

This post might be long and be truly a blog.

Back in December, 2016, when I heard CyanogenMod is dead, I was shocked along with everyone. But, then I heard developers were continuing their work under LineageOS(LOS), I felt relieved. In January and February, I flashed various LOS builds and LOS based ROMs, but none of them were stable. I know I expected too much from LOS but I wanted more. Every build was based on Nougat. I used first Nougat CM build in late September when it was too early. But during these 4 months I felt no progress. My phone was always heated and battery always draining. Force Closes(FC) were common and so were random reboots.

Simply abandoning of CM project stalled year’s progress and even forced it backwards.

Tired of all this I reverted back to MIUI. I don’t know why I did not notice till then but MIUI is a great ROM. It is super stable and has many unique features.

Now, few weeks ago, summer vacation started. Now my mind became all adventurous. Again I started flashing ROMs. To my surprise even till now LOS was not stable. Also, it heated my phone and drained battery. Most of battery drain was due to LOS services. I tried various optimisations such as Greenify,etc. but of no avail. Again, lost, I thought of moving back to stable MIUI.

One night I opened xda forums and started surfing through various issues and comments on various builds of LOS, RR, and LOS based ROMs. Then, by chance,  I started browsing the same with kernels. Then, I saw a comment from a renowned developer who pointed out that LOS is not a good ROM and to try Tesla. Tesla was a new name which I never heard before.

I researched about it a bit and found out that it was very good right from its initial build. Also, it is not a LOS based ROM. It is CAF-based. For those of you who don’t know about CAF, it stands for Code Aurora Forums. It has also started long back and is supported by QualComm. AOSP is actually a fork of CAF.

Not writing much about Tesla in this post, I will provide the link. Tesla ROM for Redmi 2 Prime . Unfortunately, premaca has quit this project. So, this ROM is updated till May 22(as of 11 JUN).

I have used this ROM and found it to be too stable. Battery life is so great that you can’t imagine and it has Magisk and supports SubStratum. Just to let you know I am not exaggerating myself when I said above words about battery life and stability.

Also, Redmi 2 Prime has got its official TWRP, to let you know, all thanks to nicknitewolf.

Concluding my post, till now best LOS is not good for now Tesla is great. Also, experimenting with SubStratum I can tell that it is the future.

Thanks for reading and enjoy your summer holidays

 

Leave a Reply

